unfulfilled expectations will ever exist

From Dickens’ Great Expectations:

“The unqualified truth is, that when I loved Estella with the love of a man, I loved her simply because I found her irresistible. Once for all; I knew to my sorrow, often and often, if not always, that I loved her against reason, against peace, against hope, against happiness, against all discouragement that could be. Once for all; I loved her none the less because I knew it, and it had no more influence in restraining me, than if I had devoutly believed her to be human perfection.”

Woe is Pip! And woe to all Men. For such is Love. That irresistible force… that which drives us to madness and folly, edges of cliffs, moors, hdb flats, and the precipices of the human heart.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “unfulfilled expectations will ever exist

  1. yh says:

    y u so angsty

Leave a Reply

